One Down…..

I had my first workshop today and I had one person show up. I would still say it was a success but I didn’t teach it like I would if there was a bunch of people. I have been friends with NF for more than fifteen years and we did a lot of talking in between. Do you remember those wine glasses I bought last year for SB? NF painted them.

I am on her list to update when she has new designs for this year. You guys know how passionately I feel about supporting small business, especially when it’s a friend. SB really liked them and who knows who will get a set of wine glasses this year? It all depends on the design.

NF did order a few oils and said she is looking forward to more workshops. Baby steps I guess. I’m proud of the presentation and the handout I created, who knows maybe bath salts 101 will come back around again?

I found an interesting salt lamp at Sam’s Club today….

It’s a Himalayan salt lamp with a tiny metal cup to put essential oils. It’s not nearly as strong as a diffuser so I’m not sure how I feel about it? I guess you don’t have to put anything in the cup and it would have the same benefits as every other Himalayan salt lamp on the market…..it’s different.  I have a couple birthdays coming up so I am tossing this idea around….no commitment yet.

The boy and I went at it this afternoon. He was mad because he slept all day. I tried to wake him up numerous times around noon., he answered me when  I talked to him? It is not my job to wake him up. His father was the worst when we were married. I didn’t have to wake up and he did. He would set the alarm and let it ring and ring and act like I was the bad guy when I got pissed…..He’s lucky I didn’t pick it up and throw it out the window like I wanted too.  The boy is the same way and I wont stand for it. He has been a negative Nancy since he came back from his grandparents. “If you don’t like your life then change it but don’t go moping around here, insulting yourself and whining poor me….I don’t want to hear it!” He really had me fired up and he knew it. He even called me from the parking lot at work….he is always twenty minutes early and that gave him time to think. I just don’t know what to do with him….he has seemed to collect all of the bad qualities of his father. This doesn’t fit into my plan of eventual grand babies either, but he has to fix himself. He’s twenty one for Pete’s sake! Okay….enough of that.

Since I was all fired up I went for a ride, to the craft store. MO received a scarf as a gift last Christmas and she let me borrow it as a pattern. I picked two anti pill fleece and a flannel. I need to find big buttons or pins to go on the flap where you tuck the scarf in for a fold.

My thought was….why not? I will have access to a serger and except for the flap it will be easy peasy. I should get five scarves out of each piece of fleece, not as much out of the flannel. I think with the flannel I will double layer it…..maybe? These will be nice, but not as nice as the felted wool. I don’t have a ton of wool let over and what I do have I want to learn to make the fingerless gloves. Just call me crazy!

Last night I made my first batch of friend green tomatoes. Just look at this yummy goodness….

The photo is pre-frying of course. This is one of my favorite Summer dinners. Some people eat them as an appetizer but for me it’s dinner. The girl likes them too, her friend not so much.  She tried them and I give her points for that. The canned sauce that SB and I made last year were the perfect accompaniment to these green beauties. Now that I know they are out there I will be searching for them. Lucky for me I know lots of gardeners.

That has been my day/weekend. I requested off next Saturday from my waitress job. I am tired of going in there and waiting on two or three tables, it’s not worth it. I thought next week I would offer a Saturday and Sunday workshop. I think deodorant 101 will be the workshop plus I have my Outlander paint and sip on Sunday so it will be a full weekend……Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to One Down…..

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    Do you mind my asking what recipe you use for the tomatoes AND for the sauce that you can?

    • dragonflyzia says:

      I do not mind at all. The sauce is hard because we kept adding things trying to get the sweetness out. I’ll pay more attention this year. The green tomatoes I slice, dredge in flour, then egg, and then Italian flavored bread crumbs. I fry in extra virgin olive oil. That’s pretty much it. Nothing fancy but it tastes so good 😊. Let me know if you try it.

  2. Big things come from small things!

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

