Big Hairy Feet

Today I used this story quite a bit…..to keep things in perspective.  When it comes to raising kids all you can do is hope for the best. Sometimes you win some and sometimes you don’t.

I walked into the university yesterday with both kids to meet with a financial aid officer. We were the equivalent of that patient that walks into the doctor’s office without an insurance card.  Bless that man with the pretty ice blue eyes for his patience. 

I knew something wasn’t right when the girl wasn’t getting more monetary help and that is why I made the appointment. It turns out that my income was reported twice, once as mine and once as hers. I brought my 2016 taxes with me, unfortunately they needed my 2015. Using my phone I retrieved my 2015. That sounds easy doesn’t it? Well it wasn’t! I have a book with my passwords in it and that does me no good when I am in a situation like this. I figured it out but I was frustrated by the time I got there. My part is done thank goodness.

Let’s talk about the boy…..when you have a stubborn mule of a child that never fears you it becomes a problem later in life. I had to rip the Apple watch (that has never worked) out of his hands because he wouldn’t stop flicking it. He made inappropriate comments about big business when I asked him to retrieve a copy of his 2015 from the place he filed with. I won’t mention the part where I gave him a filing box to keep this kind of document in case he needed it. When I asked him about it he said “please mom, I burn that shit.” He didn’t have his social security card and doesn’t have the number memorized. He sat there scrolling through his phone instead of paying attention.  I know it’s wrong to want to punch your child in the face but I really wanted to do just that!  I just want to drop him off at his dad’s and say “you fix him….all of these tendencies are from your family!” Plus he fears his dad, maybe it’s really his dad I want to punch in the face. I say these words like I have actually punched somebody, I never have but I have wished I could have yesterday.

I had noticed that the boy had taken off one of his flip flops and was shaking his big hairy foot on his knee. That I saw. What I didn’t see because I was working so hard to find what I needed in the worst light on a small phone was the part where the boy rubbed his big hairy foot along the desk of blue eyes. Are we kidding here? Who scratches their foot on a strangers desk? There isn’t a big enough rock for me to climb under right now.

While I was in FASFA  the night before trying to find my parent account for the girl I found my old account.  I was tired and frustrated and thought why not? Who knows maybe next year I may head back? It could only help my writing, I guess we will see.

When my little buddy was over last night to watch Outlander I made two wreaths while we were watching. One for my little buddy and one that was commissioned. It was then that I decided to make a Facebook page for my crafts. I did okay at one craft show last year, the rest of my sales were from Facebook friends or family.  Why not? I have found myself saying that more and more lately. That really should have been the title to this post but I need you to all understand the depths of my embarrassment…..Zia

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

