Finding My Feet

I quit my waitress job on Sunday and dove right in. While I may be on shaky feet right now, I am sure it will settle down. I made a Facebook page but still am not so sure about Etsy. For me this shipping is the scary part….where will I find boxes that will work? I think an Etsy store may be premature at this point. I made two new projects this week. The first are these cute little book page pumpkins, I have sold two of these….

My next little experiment….book page witch hats which seem to be more popular. I have sold five of these….

I thought the pumpkins were cuter….I guess that shows how much I know.

Last night I was on wool overload.  I wasn’t sure that MH would be able to help me work on my ponchos today so I procrastinated on cutting the wool. Big mistake! She was able to help today and I was up until 12:30am this morning. I was not bright eyed and bushy tailed at 5:40 am when my alarm started going off.

It was totally worth it in the end. She is a master wool smith and she helped me make my very own poncho. She charges a lot for these, I can’t remember the price but it’s more than $75.00. I would never spend that on myself for something to wear. The purple one is mine and the fall colored one may end up being the girls…or a gift? I haven’t decided yet. I have three more to cut. These are the ones I did today. I serged everything except the collar. Thankfully she took pity on me and did that part..whew!

I will be more picky with my wool finds this year. My goal for next year is to make a blanket like this. MH has created the most beautiful blankets out of upcycled wool. I would much rather have this than something purchased in a store.  I have a plan this time so my wool container will not be overflowing with anything other than felted cut squares so then all I have to do is piece it together. Fingers crossed I can find the wool, it’s getting harder and harder to find.

While she was talking me through my ponchos MH was working on her own projects. Here are a few little dolls she threw together for an upcoming artisan festival.

They are so stinkin’ cute in their ponchos and yoga pants. MH is a wool genius!

I got home just in time to make dinner for my little buddy for our Outlander night. Next week is “the episode”. She has heard us refer to it but she hasn’t read the books so she has no idea what is coming. I think I need to pick a project to do next week so I can half watch and still be productive while not have to acknowledge certain scenes….Oh boy

I haven’t done much else…well at least nothing exciting, right now it’s just make…make…make…..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

