Thrift Score!

Instead of reporting disturbing dreams or long days at work, I have decided to share some of my latest scores….

Last week I grabbed what I thought was a textured blanket at the ReStore. It turns out it was a slip cover for a sofa. I have purchased one before, I was given one last year and neither worked.  I took back the one I bought and made due with the one that was given. This one actually fits and there is minimal struggle and the best part…..it was $8.00. The bonus it that it matches nicely with my new coffee table that I love and the kids hate. This picture is a little blurry but you get the idea.

Yes the rug no longer matches and the burgundy scarf things can go, the black out curtains need to stay but I can soften them up somehow. Sadly the pillows aren’t just right. I cut off the ones I made last year because I thought maybe these old ones would work but they are too yellow.

I did find a flat sheet that will work for a pillow or three at a rummage sale yesterday for $1.00. I will need to do a muslin cover up first but I bought a bunch of that for a  project that never came to fruition. Cutting it to get the most out of it will be the tricky part….

This all started with my new coffee table that I love and found for $30.00…

It was dirtier than it looks…maybe someone was a smoker? This is what the magic eraser looked like when I was done…

The optician and I took another road trip south to one of our other locations to cover some shifts. We stopped at the local Goodwill while we were down there. When I was checking out the woman said “is this a winter coat?” okay…I can play along….”I don’t know is it?” I said to her. “No, I think this is a light coat” she said as she rang up the beautiful ‘wool’ coat for $7.99. I was willing to pat the $12.99 but hey….if she is going to offer….. This coat lays so nice, I am so excited. I would never have picked this blue but it called to me and now this wool Anne Klein is mine.

I also found some vintage little girl’s fabric. I’m not sure what I am going to do with it but it was a dollar! The more I look at it I think it might have been a bedspread…maybe? It feels more like a curtain? Maybe it was a scratchy sheet? I am thinking a pillow or maybe a tote bag for all of the little girls being born in the family? Honestly….I’m not sure, but hey…it was a dollar and it’s vintage.

Last week I scored a cast iron skillet from the ReStore for $12.00. I took me a good forty-five minutes to clean and season it but now I have a small pot. A girl at work tried to offer me $50.00 for it! That’s just crazy!!! This was a rare find and I bought it to use it!

I have been quite lucky the last few weeks and I will take it!…..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thrift Score!

  1. Jean says:

    I wish I liked thrift shopping. I suppose I’d have to have some lucky finds before I was hooked.

    • dragonflyzia says:

      I have been doing this so long, I can’t even tell you when I was hooked. I am lucky that I am lucky so often. I have spent many hours where I didn’t find any super deals but I think my finds out weigh the lost time. 🙂 It’s always good to hear from you Jean.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

