It Felt Like More……

I worked in the house all day. I only left to run out and put gas in the car, go to the laundromat, and run into the grocery store for some bread and popcorn kernels. I feel like I should have accomplished more. Maybe it was because I was taking my time and was extra thorough?I cleaned all day, I feel like it should look like more was done.

I filled three garbage bags today just from cleaning the kitchen. How is that possible? I didn’t even scrub the floor yet. One bag was from cleaning out the fridge. I started at the top and that’s where I have a basket that I toss chips and other snacks. I scrubbed the top and while I was waiting for it to dry, I went through the snack basket and then organized  the tea box. I purged things in the freezer, I’m pretty sure that diced ham came from the old house. It didn’t look freezer burned because I vacuum sealed it but still….it needed to go. I took everything out of the fridge and scrubbed it out. It wasn’t so bad, not like when the kids were little…they were always spilling things and pretending that they didn’t and left it for me. I was like a crazy person today, I even washed all of the magnets on the door.

I washed a lot of laundry today as well so I needed to go to the laundromat to dry.  I had wanted to steam clean the rug and the couch today but I ran out of time. The kids are at their dads the next couple of days so I don’t have to mess with dinner. That should give me some more time. I couldn’t return the carpet scrubber tomorrow anyway, I can’t fit it in the car when the girl is in the front seat. I still have to take her to school in the morning. Unfortunately because she is at her dads that means I will have to give the dog a bath. That’s not my favorite thing to do but if I am going to clean the couch…it only makes sense.

Yesterday RD and I had a table at a local craft show. It was a church craft show and it was a very nice day. There wasn’t a lot of traffic. I made my half of the table back and a little bit more. I bought some things and found a gift for my sister in law for Christmas.

It holds a 4×6 photo under that clothespin. I thought it looked like her and it was only $8.00. The wood is from an old barn so it’s upcycled as well. I bought some old silverware decorated with dried lavender from RD to add to the box.

I found a little old lady who makes my washcloths and she only charges $1.00. I already have a drawer full so I limited myself to three. I don’t have any Christmas colors so that’s why I grabbed the red one.

One of the girls at work who stopped by found a lady who made fancy fabric bags and sold them for $1.00, Christmas ones were $1.50. Cheaper than a gift bag and much nicer.

I went back later and noticed her tote bags for $5.00. You can’t even buy the fabric and make it yourself for that! It’s this crazy yellow floral vintage fabric but I was drawn to it…I don’t own a single fabric with yellow in it. This is a tote bag though and not a piece of clothing. It smells like an ashtray and I am testing out some homemade essential oil/febreeze recipes. The combination that kills that smell will be a huge winner. It smells so bad that I think maybe the fabric was new when she made it and it has absorbed that many years of cigarette smoke.

The quality is superb, I will have this bag forever…once I get rid of the smell. I could wash it or throw it in a dryer with a Dryel sheet but I want to test some recipes and this is just the smelly thing to experiment on.

I took $20.00 of my earnings and headed right to Sam’s club. The girl and I had discussed changing the “something musical” on the Christmas list to “something to read” at least for her. She had pointed out a dinosaur book for $18.88. Something made me go there yesterday and when I did….I bought the last copy.

I already picked up a giant dinosaur reference book at Ollie’s for half of that price. This will definitely be the heaviest of her Christmas list presents.

My little drawer sachets were saved by pinking sheers. They did come out cuter than I thought they might. I sold them for $5.00 a pair and I thought that was extra economical. I forgot to mention that earlier….

Friday night was book club and I didn’t get home until almost ten. We had fun. None of liked the book. We read Endless Night by Agatha Christie. The best was to describe this book….if you’re old enough…it is the equivalent to the season premier of Dallas, the year that Bobby stepped out of the shower with Pam saying “it was all a terrible dream”.  I never saw it coming.

I was saved by Audible of all things. I had stuff I needed to do so I started my free trial with Endless Night and I carried my Kindle with me everywhere. You get two free books in your trial so after book club I came home and downloaded the next book club book The Patron Saint of Liars by Ann Patchett. I made it half way through today listening while I cleaned. Audible is nice, it’s just too pricey for this girl…..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It Felt Like More……

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    I love audible. Listening while I run or drive is wonderful. The tote bag looks amazing!

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

